Last Week and Memorial Day Weekend

Continuing My Exciting World of Crafting

Patriotic Pillow

I made this patriotic pillow in class this week. We worked again on buttonholes and buttons. With my Singer machine, it has a 4-part buttonhole maker. It takes a little bit of work to make it work just right, but it’s still doable. I used the same pillow insert as I did with the project last week. I picked out this beautiful blue and white striped fabric covered in stars. Luckily my sewing instructor had some great red, white, and blue buttons in her basket. It’s going to take a lot of practice to get the buttonholes down, but I think I’ll eventually become proficient in it. It’s not so hard to machine sew buttons, it’s just tedious to get it lined up just right.

Both of my parents had birthdays this week. I made my mom a little bookmark with a white and yellow polka dot fabric. It had a brown button on the top. Then I made her a rice pack that she can use either warm or cold depending on the need. I made my dad a houndstooth rice pack accented with red and white thread to pay homage to his love of University of Alabama football. He’s been using it for shoulder pain.

Daddy's Rice Pack Cropped

Yesterday afternoon I decided to make a cool pack for myself with some brightly colored flannel I have. It ended up longer than I intended it to, but it’s ok. I added peppermint essential oil to the rice. After I finished stitching it up, I put it in the freezer to use on my head when I get headaches.My Rice Pack

I’m saving a lot of patterns on Pinterest that I’d like to try. I’m on the search for buttons and thread to accent my pieces.


Health

This has not been the best week for health for both family and myself. I personally suddenly started having vision problems a few weeks ago. I had also started having trouble when walking with my right foot dragging.

My right foot was dragging initially when I had a spinal cord illness called Transverse Myelitis in 2012. It’s not doing it all the time, and I thought it may be a problem with my low back. I went to the neurologist who ordered an MRI of my low back.

A little over a week and a half ago, I noticed my eyes were hurting and having some dryness. I made an appointment with my eye doctor. He seemed to think I might have some thyroid troubles and that it was what was causing the eye pain, blurred vision, and double vision. He mentioned a thyroid disease, so I contacted my primary doctor. Before I went to him, I found some information showing a condition that can occur with those who’ve had transverse myelitis, and I want to rule it out. I have an MRI of my brain this coming week, and if it doesn’t show a neurological problem, I’ll be going to an endocrinologist to see if there is a problem with my thyroid.

 

 

Leave a Reply

