Weekend Roundup

BJ and I enjoyed the end of the week of his vacation. Friday I woke up early and enjoyed some coffee. Around 8 I woke BJ up, and he slowly got up. We’re pretty much the exact opposite when it comes to waking up. As soon as I’m awake, my feet usually hit the floor. BJ, however, stays in bed for a little while. If I did that I’d fall back asleep.

We went to eat lunch at a different Mexican restaurant than the ones we’ve been to before. It was really good. I had a vegetarian tamale, and something cool I’ve never had before, avocado mac ‘n cheese. It sounds kind of gross, but it was really good.

After eating we went into a Hancock Fabrics that was a couple doors down. I had seen clearance signs in the window, and I couldn’t pass it up. I saw a lot of things I really wanted, but found this Owl Planter

It’s a perfect planter for my succulents that will live in my craft room before too long. I also found these beautiful buttons for my wristlets that my mom crocheted for me.Buttons

BJ dropped me off at Hobby Lobby to shop while he went to get a haircut. I found a couple of photo frames I wanted, but couldn’t find an item I’m looking out for which is a lucky elephant. I looked at quiet a few things, and BJ still hadn’t called to tell me his haircut was done, so I bought my frames then started walking toward the barber shop. I stopped in Kirkland’s to see if they had any neat decorating ideas. I couldn’t stay in there long, because the smell of the candles and potpourri were triggering an even worse migraine than the one I already had.

We then headed to Lowe’s to get a few supplies for our garden. BJ got t-posts, wire, and rebar to create the trellis and support structure for our straw bale garden. I picked up this beauty:African Violets

I’ve had African violets before, but they died a long time ago, and I want to get one. I have special little pots that are made especially for them. I will be buying another one soon. I just loved the color of this little guy. I’m still sort of holding out for some succulents.

We went home after that, and I fell asleep because of fatigue from these never ending migraines. BJ did some great work in the front flowerbed. He also cut down some pallets to use as reinforcement for the straw bale garden.

Flowerbed2
The green plants are stonecrops and there’s a couple of salvias in there. I have 3 of the solar dragonflies that change color at night.

After I got up, BJ wanted to get back out of the house. We had some dinner, and then drove downtown to the courthouse square. We parked and walked to a little cafe/coffee shop.

Cafe

They serve a wide selection of coffee, tea, and tasty treats. They also have meals, including some that are vegetarian. I got a large latte and BJ got a mocha. They have a little spot to sit outside, but we decided to sit in the cafe for the ambiance. I really enjoyed it, and I’m definitely going to be going back.

Cafe 2


BJ decided to try another round of fishing on Saturday morning. I want no part of the water right now. I woke up at the same time as he was getting ready to go out. I hung out around the house. I spent some time hanging out in my craft room. I’m constantly coming up with new ideas of things I’d like to do with the room. I

I struggled most of the morning with a migraine, and slept off and on for most of the morning. After BJ got home from fishing we decided to get out of the house. We headed to Jason’s Deli where we both had the salad bar.

After we ate, we drove to one of my favorite places in town. It’s called Lowe Mill and in its beginnings it was a cotton mill, one of a few in town. It is three stories tall, and is shaped like an “L”. Lowe Mill is filled with artist studios that you can walk by and watch people working at or selling their art. The first floor is mostly studios for full time artists. There are a vast array of things to see from paintings, to jewelry making, pottery, and sculpture. One the second floor is what is called the “artist’s market”. People set up tables and small booths to sell their arts and crafts. There’s always so many cool and interesting products for sale. The people watching is awesome too. You never know what kinds of things you will see. We went from floor to floor in one of those old industrial elevators. I was a little nervous of it, but wanted to try it. I actually got out of the market without spending any money. I’m pretty sure if BJ hadn’t been with me that I would’ve bought a few things.


 

Sunday morning I woke up early, even though we were springing forward. I spent part of the morning “window shopping” online. BJ got up at 8.

We spent most of the morning just hanging around the house. I printed off an organized list of the seeds that I currently have to see if there are any more that I might want to order. I probably have a dozen seed catalogs, and I love it! I just love seeing the many different things available.

Later in the day BJ wanted to get out of the house. First we went to Garden Cove, which is a local produce/health food store. I love their selection and prices on produce. Their prices on frozen foods and supplements are rather high, but the produce is priced really great. I bought some bananas, onions, and spinach. I was able to use the produce bag that my mom crocheted for me. It worked really well.

We then drove down to Madison County Lake. This has been one of our favorite spots to ride around since we first moved to the area. It is a manmade lake that is a decent size. We always drive from one end to the other taking in the sights. Yesterday we were blessed to see a bald eagle flying over the lake. So beautiful!

We spent the rest of the night hanging out at home. It’s been a great week having BJ on vacation.

Leave a Reply

