Tuesday’s Gone With the Wind

Wheat Berries

Monday night I picked up my first order from a company called Azure Standard. You can buy in bulk and get a ton of different choices of organic and healthy foods. I bought a few things just to sort of check it out. Some of my interesting purchases included two different kinds of hard wheat berries. I’m looking to grind them in my Vitamix blender that is made just right for grinding the wheat berries into flour. I’m going to be baking lots of bread. I also bought a big batch of yeast. I’m going to be buying from them again. When the 18 wheeler arrived in the parking lot where people were waiting, we all formed a line and started unloading everyone’s products. They were separated out by last name, and before long the shipment for this area was out of the truck and we quickly found our box.

BJ went fishing yesterday with a buddy of his. He said he caught 3, so he wants to fish more while he’s on vacation. Fishing is truly his passion. I don’t have a single thing that I can claim to be my passion. I have an interest in so many different things. I’m usually trying to work on all my favorite things at the same time.

I woke up about 6, and had coffee. About 9 I was already fighting sleepiness. I swear I must have the sleeping sickness. I talked to my dad on the phone for a little bit, and then went into my craft room to take a little nap. When I woke up BJ was sending me a text saying he was on his way home from fishing. Before he got home I drew out a “map” of my cinder block flowerbed. I am now going to plan what I’m going to plant in each little hole.

Garden Planning
It’s a good thing I used graph paper. I am definitely not good at drawing.

Once BJ got home and got ready, we went for an early dinner. We went to Jason’s Deli. I should’ve just gotten a salad, but I got their Zucchini Grillini. It’s a good sandwich with red roasted pepper hummus, black olives, spinach, tomato, and cheese. It came with a bowl of steamed veggies. I love their tea, I think it is black currant tea. I bought a tin of black currant tea the other day, and I’m going to try making some this week.

After eating we went to Marshalls and Target. I’m searching for some affordable containers to store all my bulk food items in. I found some at Bed Bath and Beyond before I picked up my food on Monday night, but they’re just a little too expensive. I was hoping for something at Marshalls. I saw a few things I wanted to buy, but I am trying to contain my urge to shop. Next week I will get back into a pattern of more sensible spending. I’ve studied money management enough to know what to do to save my pennies, but I haven’t been doing it. I went off the rails at Christmas, and I’m not back on track yet. At Target I didn’t see any different containers than the ones I had already seen. Still not as cheap as I’d like. I have a need for quiet a few of the containers. I ended up buying a cruelty-free eyeshadow stick to put in my purse. I typically don’t wear much or any makeup, but I probably should. I got a bronze colored eyeshadow.

After those places we went to Whole Foods. I’m a true sucker for places like this. It is rather expensive, but they have a few things I can’t find anywhere else. I got some liquid stevia for my iced tea, cereal, tortillas, crumbled feta, sun dried tomatoes packed in olive oil, and then some vegan chicken salad.

We came home because I was starting to get a pretty bad headache. Once we got home, BJ realized we needed dog food. He headed to Kroger near our house, and I put a mask over my eyes to help ease my headache. I took my tinctures, and a anti-inflammatory. A little later it started easing up some, and I watched some TV with BJ. I had a wrap with the mock chicken salad, and it was extremely tasty.

I’m hoping that we enjoy the rest of BJ’s vacation, even though the further in the week it gets, the higher the likelihood of rain.

Leave a Reply

