Is It Spring Yet

Snow Jan 22
As seen off my back deck

By the looks of things, spring won’t be here for a little while. I like looking at snow, love watching it come down and pretending you’re inside a snow globe. However, I do not like the cold. I usually stay huddled under an electric throw.

The winter does give us time to plan to-do projects for the spring. I want to make a flower bed close to the back fence. I keep going over it in my min to decide how I want it done. A lady that works with MrB gave him some seeds for “Purple Angel Trumpet” flowers. Then I found a guy on Facebook who is willing to send some flower seeds from his garden for free. All you do is send 3 stamps and a SASE. I’m so excited for spring.

My vegetable garden is going to be more organized this year. Last year I had a foot injury and then surgery that prevented me from getting down to our back yard. I tried to supervise what MrB was doing. We did the garden using 4 straw bale (not hay bales) which are usually about $5-6 a piece. I’m going to go for 5 bales this year, have really good trellising, organic pest control, and the main thing we’re going to do is stabilize the straw bales with wood to prevent them from collapsing.

My goal is to try to do all organic gardening, but boy is that ever expensive, but we are a family of 2, and I think that it won’t cost as much as it would for a lot of people.

Right now I have my seeds from last year in a mason jar in the back of the refrigerator. I’m very much a novice gardener, but I’m going to keep at it. My dad told me that I was like my grandfather, because when I got a seed catalog in the mail, my eyes began to twinkle.

For now I’ll keep dreaming and learning about gardening and herbal medicine.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

