Sunday Happenings

I woke up around 6:30 Sunday morning and did some meditation. Then I drank my coffee and later in the morning I had scrambled eggs and toast from homemade bread out of the freezer. MrB went to work, and took some of the quinoa enchilada casserole with him for his lunch.

I spent part of the morning loom knitting a hat, which I finally finished. The yarn was not cooperating with me, but I was able to get it finished. The yarn was made up of two fuzzy layers and a strand of thread in the middle. It kept bunching up, and at one time before MrB left, the yarn partially broke. MrB tied a fishing knot to fix the break. It won’t be the best hat I’ve made, but I love how soft the yarn is. I have several skeins of the exact same yarn, and I’m hoping that it isn’t all the same.

I went to feed Denver at about 9:30, and visited with him for a little while. He is such a happy boy, and it’s always a joy to visit with him.

SeriousDenver

I watched some TV in the early afternoon, ate some leftover pasta, and then I started dinner. I threw some things together including three potatoes chopped up, a few stalks of broccoli, chopped carrots, leftover corn and black beans, minced garlic, diced tomatoes, pasta sauce, green beans, and a steamed bag of carrots, peas, and green beans. I brought it to a boil, and then let it simmer for two hours. It was yummy!

VeggieSoup

During the day MrB sent me this picture from work. He said the little tree frog stayed on his arm for about 30 minutes while he worked. It stayed there until someone came up and tried to pet it, and then it jumped off.

MrB's little froggy friend
MrB’s little froggy friend

After dinner MrB took me to Kroger so I could get a few things. I bought some of the basics at the grocery store including a big bag of flour and cornmeal. I have plans to make a few things from scratch this week. We’ll see how it goes! I spent $67.63, and I’m hoping that will take care of most of our needs for the coming days. I do hope to get a few fresh fruits and veggies from the local produce market. I’ll probably get those on Wednesday. I’m not super optimistic that we’ll make our budget this month, but I’m going to try. We’ve spent $223.98 so far on groceries, and we’re not even halfway thru the month. I’m going to try to be as creative as possible.

We spent the evening watching football, and I started a new hat on the loom.


Frugal Things For Today

  • Ate all meals from home
  • Used leftover foods and produce to make vegetable soup
  • Finished another hat for a Christmas present
  • Bought staples necessary to make more things from scratch
  • No heat or A/C on today
One thought on “Sunday Happenings

Leave a Reply

