Saturday Review

I woke up at about 5:15 Saturday morning, and began my day with coffee. MrB left for work not long after I woke up. He took left over stir fry with him for his lunch. I ended up eating pancakes that I had stocked away in the freezer, and I topped them with agave nectar syrup.

Joey taking his siesta
Joey taking his siesta

I’m a bit of a packrat, and there are three areas in my home that I’ve been slowly working on over time trying to declutter and clean. One of those areas happens to be a spare bedroom that I call my “craft room”. I have dreams of it being a cleaner space with room to put a chair that I can sit and read in. I have way too much stuff packed in there. I had been wanting to get into the closet for some time, because I have a stash of yarn hanging on the door by way of a shoe hanger. MrB managed to move some boxes for me so I had a clear path to both to the closet, and to the bookcase that’s full of books I want to read. I think that just having the boxes moved around where there’s space to sit and sort will help me with the decluttering process. I’ll probably have to set a challenge for myself to get it cleared out.

Yarn Stash
One of my stashes of yarn

I spent some of my morning loom knitting and listening to podcasts. I finished my fourth hat, and was hoping to make another with the same color yarn, but I just didn’t have enough to make another hat. I will be using the remaining yarn to make some scrubbies or perhaps a dishcloth. I haven’t quiet learned to make dishcloths yet, but I hope to learn soon. I wouldn’t mind making a few of them to go along with the vanilla extract I’m giving for Christmas gifts.

PinkHat

I took a nap in the middle of the day, and when I woke up I decided it was time to start on some supper. I decided to make one of MrB’s favorite meals which is quinoa enchilada casserole. After brining 2 cups of water to a boil, I put 1 cup of quinoa in, and turn it on low to simmer for 15 minutes. While that is cooking I put most of the remaining ingredients in a bowl. A can of enchilada sauce, a small can of diced green chiles, 1/2 cup of corn, 1/2 cup of black beans, 1/2 cup of mozzarella, 1/2 cup Mexican blend cheese, 2 tablespoons of cilantro (I used dried even though the recipe calls for fresh), and 1 and a half teaspoons each of cumin and chili powder. I add the cooked and drained quinoa in, and pour it in a greased casserole dish. I top the filling with more mozzarella and Mexican blend cheese. I pop it into an oven that has preheated to 350 degrees and let it cook for 15 minutes. It always turns out great, and I usually only get a single serving for myself. MrB devours it, and then gleefully takes leftovers to work the next day.

MrB got home around 5 and we watched football the rest of the evening. Our team won its game, so I was thrilled about that. I started another hat on my loom using a different yarn. I’m hoping to get at least two hats out of this skein of yarn. I went to bed around 10pm.

Leave a Reply

