Weekend Roundup

Saturday was a very quiet day at home. I woke up before MrB, and did a little reading and enjoyed my coffee. I had an egg sandwich for breakfast. We watched football most of the day, and ate leftover lasagna. It was cloudy and cool, so we both took naps for a little while during the day. We spent zero money on groceries, or on anything actually. The lack of spending made it a productive day to me.


Sunday morning we got up a little early and took the boat out. MrB fished while I read herbal magazines. It was still cool and cloudy so I wore a hoodie over my shirt. The scenery at the river always impresses.

Tennessee River
Tennessee River

Besides reading my magazines, I’m continuing to read “Down To Earth” by Rhonda Hetzel. I’m starting to frame a picture in my mind of how I want to live the rest of my life. I left the professional workplace a couple years ago due to illness, and I’m finally starting to learn more about what I want to do with myself. I’ve been aimlessly wandering thru life for many years. Due to illness, I’ll probably never fully return to the working world, and we’ve recently decided we will be unable to have children. I plan to grab life by the horns, and make the best of each day I’m given. Simple living will enable me to make the best of our home, and what’s in it.

When we arrived home after our fishing excursion, MrB and I were hungry. So he ate more of the leftover lasagna, and I ate a freezer meal. As soon as we finished eating we got to work preparing dinner. He chopped up an onion, and I threw in some garlic and frozen jalapeños. After those had sautéed in some olive oil for a little bit, I put in a pound of red kidney beans I had been soaking. To that I added a can of tomato sauce, tomato paste, diced tomatoes, diced tomatoes with chiles, cumin, chili powder, and some homemade vegetable stock. I brought it all to a boil, and then set it to simmer for a few hours. It turned out pretty good. I topped it with cheddar I had shredded in the food processor and a dollop of sour cream. It was more like a soup than a chili, but we both liked it ok. I also think the beans could’ve used more cooking. I at least know I can sort of haphazardly throw together some ingredients out of the pantry to make a nourishing meal for us. There is plenty left over for several meals.

My chili
My chili

I took a short nap while MrB went to pick up more dog food, and fill his truck up with gas for the week. He also went to buy some wasp spray. I had noticed a couple of times a bunch of wasps hovering ominously in front of one of my living room windows. I forgot to mention it, but suddenly I looked outside and there was a swarm of them (about 10 or so) hovering above the window again. I pointed them out, and when MrB went to look he found a fairly extensive wasp nest absolutely covered with wasps. After he got home he sprayed those dirty rascals after bringing Denver in for safekeeping, as the nest was going to fall right into his favorite place to sit. After a few minutes he went outside, and sprayed the actual nest with the wasp spray. He then put it up on the deck to get rid of. I’m glad he was able to get rid of them!

We spent the rest of the evening watching football, and I read some. I keep up with other blogs using the Feedly program, and I follow so many that I get behind. I have a lot to catch up on, and some days I really don’t feel like being on the computer for that long.

Leave a Reply

