Wednesday

I started out the morning early for me, at about 5:30. I weighed because it had been over a week. I was nervous that I’d gained a lot of weight over the week because of my birthday. I ended up only gaining 0.2 pounds. I was thrilled that I didn’t fall too far off my Weight Watchers plan. I drank coffee and watched TV until around 10. I got ready for an appointment.

There is roadwork going on, so I had to go on back roads to get to my appointment, but thankfully I wasn’t late. I came straight home afterwards, and MrB headed to the grocery store after work to pick up a few things for the week. While he was there he found some canning supplies on deep clearance. He called me to tell me they had purple canning jars. I told him to buy two boxes of them, and to just surprise me with whatever else he picked up. I don’t can yet, but I store things in jars. I’ve been eyeing some of these purple canning jars all year. He picked up a couple bags of salsa mix, which can be made and frozen. He got freezer jam pectin, citric acid, and pickling spices. I was thrilled with it.

I'm in love!
I’m in love!

I cooked the field peas in the crockpot using a bag full of them and homemade vegetable stock. I added a little water, salt, and pepper. Then I put them on low for 4 and a half hours.

When MrB got home he started frying okra. He mixed a little cornmeal and flour in a zipper bag, and cooked them in a little canola oil. I had really put too many slices of okra in the fridge for cooking at once, but there’s plenty of leftovers. We enjoyed our okra and peas while watching some TV.

We’re quickly approaching October, and we have $11.45 left in our monthly grocery budget challenge. I’m going to get as creative as I can to help us reach our goal.

Leave a Reply

