Vacation at the Cabin

MrB and I left Sunday morning headed to my mom’s cabin in the woods. We stopped to get a little ice and a few drinks. We packed some snacks to enjoy along the way. After a two hour drive we arrived at the cabin.

My mom and stepdad were there, and not long after we arrived my mom started fixing my belated birthday dinner. We had meatless lasagna, fried okra, green beans, and for dessert per my request was a batch of from scratch oatmeal raisin cookies.

Birthday cookies at the cabin.
Birthday cookies at the cabin.

After our dinner we sat around and visited for a while. We all went to bed a little early. Being totally unconnected to cell signal, no internet, and no TV makes you sleepy earlier.

I apparently was allergic to something that is blooming there that isn’t at home, because I started snoring. Poor MrB said it was so bad that he had to go sleep on the couch. It didn’t help that we were sleeping on opposite sides of the bed than we’re used to at home. Also I was facing him, and was snoring right in his face.


MrB and my stepdad left with my stepdad’s boat very early the next morning to go to a lake that MrB had never been to.

I woke up before my mom and looked out the windows for wildlife. I was hoping to see some deer or turkey. My mom and I sat out on the front porch and drank our coffee. We heard some coyotes deep in the woods making their sounds. We had scrambled eggs and cantaloupe for breakfast.

Soon we got dressed for our walk. We headed out to the dirt road, and were greeted by beautiful sights everywhere we went. We saw a lot of wildflowers and pretty creeks.

Wildflowers
Wildflowers

Creek

We were able to get a little cell signal while we were on our walk. It’s very, very spotty. She is on a different cell phone carrier than I am so she got signal at different places than I did.

When we got close to the cabin my mom picked some pears from their tree. I’m looking forward to trying them.

Fresh pear
Fresh pear

After our walk we sat down and I taught my mom how to loom knit. She is wanting to learn so she can make an afghan for the cabin. I have been looming periodically for about 8 years. I’ve made many hats, but not much else. She took to it right away, and did very well for a newbie. While she was working on her first piece I had a smaller loom, and decided to try making a dishwashing scrubby that I had seen made on Youtube. I used this ancient orange yarn that has been sitting in my craft room the whole time I’ve lived at our home. I bought a bunch of yarn at an estate sale when we first moved back to Alabama after living in Florida. For some reason this lady had a ton of orange yarn. I don’t know if she just liked the color or was making hunting attire. All I know is that the yarn is probably from the 70’s or 80’s, and has never been used.

We took a break to have leftovers for lunch. The men had eaten most of the cookies, but there were still enough for my mom and I to have one with our lunch. We went back to knitting for a little while. Soon we decided to shell some peas to go with our dinner. I had snapped green beans before, but had never shelled peas. We went out on the porch and each got a pot and started shelling. After finishing we took them inside and rinsed them. They went straight onto the stovetop to begin cooking. While she started the peas cooking I watched a video I had downloaded to my computer off of Youtube to show me how to finish the scrubby.

Scrubby
Scrubby

Before we knew it the guys were at the cabin. Poor MrB didn’t really have any luck fishing, but he got to experience a new lake and he enjoyed that. We ate dinner, and before we knew it both guys had already gone to bed for the night. MrB and I decided to switch the sides of the bed we slept on to see if that would help my snoring. The night before when we slept, we were turned face-to-face in a smaller bed. So I was snoring right in his face, because I always sleep on my right side.

My mom finished the hat she started. She did amazing for her first time loom knitting. She knows how to crochet and needle knit, so she picked it up very easily. I showed her how to take the hat off the loom and cinch the top of it. I read a little, and then went to bed.


My stepdad left early to fish in a tournament, so it was the three of us hanging out in the morning. I was up and about first, (my stepdad had woken my mother up getting ready to fish very early in the morning, and she had gone back to sleep) and I went outside. It was very cool outside, and there was a beautiful mist rising over the pond in front of the cabin.

Misty morning
Misty morning

I read a little before everyone got up and about, and enjoyed some coffee. My mom woke up, and we visited a little. I woke MrB up at about 7:30, and thankfully I hadn’t really kept him up snoring. He was exhausted the night before due to my snoring and waking up so early to fish all day. After I woke him up he decided to fish in the pond.

I had eggs for breakfast, my mom at cereal, and MrB ate some cantaloupe. He’s not much of a breakfast guy. He went back out to fish while my mom and I cleaned up. He had much better luck fishing the pond than he did on the river. We all decided to walk across a field to a stream to see if we could get to the little waterfall. We walked down to the stream, but realized we couldn’t get to the waterfall by foot. MrB went back to the cabin to get the truck. While he was gone I spotted deer tracks.

Deer tracks
Deer tracks

We got in the truck and drove up the stream to the waterfall. It didn’t disappoint.

SONY DSC

MrB had to back the truck up back down the stream to get us back to the cabin. He then went back to fishing while my mom started some lunch. She made mac n’ cheese, cornbread, reheated the peas, and cooked some frozen veggies in the microwave. We called MrB to lunch, and then we started loading the truck.

My mom gave me some vegetables for part of my birthday gift. These vegetables were from the Amish community nearby. I got sweet potatoes, peas, and okra. I got the three pears from the tree on the property that my mom had picked for me.

We helped my mom clean up and shut the cabin up for the day. We stopped at the gate, and MrB helped her lock it up. While he was doing that I was watching these beautiful creatures.

SONY DSC

We had a rather uneventful trip home. After we settled in a little, we decided to sit out on the back deck and prepare our vegetables for cooking later on. I shelled all the peas, and MrB cut up all the okra.

Beginning to shell the peas
Beginning to shell the peas

We had pasta for dinner, and then MrB cut up some sweet potatoes. He sliced them thin and cooked them in butter and brown sugar. I put all the peas to cook in a ziplock bag. I put some of the okra in a ziplock bag to cook the next day. I then prepared some Foodsaver vacuum sealer bags. I got the remaining okra rinsed in batches, and filled 3 separate bags full of okra to put in the freezer.

We enjoyed some sweet potatoes, and then before long we went to bed. It was a great adventure!

Leave a Reply

