My Special Day

Well, Thursday was my birthday, and it was one to remember. I woke up at 6:30, and watched a little news while drinking my coffee. MrB woke up a little after I did. We had the boat hooked up, and picked up some breakfast from Subway before heading to a small lake near our home. This lake only allows trolling motors to be used and not the gas powered motor. I had a wonderful time taking pictures, and looking at the scenery.

Lake and mountain
Lake and mountain

The lake is manmade, but according to the depth finder on the front of the boat, it is over 30 feet deep in places. It is surrounded by beautiful mountains and woods.

Peaceful
Peaceful

There were some beautiful birds, including kingfisher, Canadian geese, and herons. Sometimes we get to see a bald eagle, but we didn’t see any yesterday. MrB did a little fishing, and successfully caught one bass. He hasn’t had much luck in that lake, so he was thrilled to catch one.

Early fall foliage
Early fall foliage

It started warming up outside, so we headed home. MrB unhooked the boat, and I talked to my dad on the phone for a little while. We had originally had plans to pick up a free sandwich for me and get one for MrB and take to a park on a mountain to eat. We changed our minds, and my sweet husband treated me to a lunch at one of my favorite Mexican restaurants.

After lunch we headed up the mountain to a nature trail. We sat on a big rocking chair together and took in the scenery. It was so peaceful. There is a small manmade lake in the park, and we walked down to some benches along the edge of the water. We sat on them for a little bit, and then decided to ride around some more.

Covered bridge
Covered bridge

We took a trip to a little store with closeout items. We didn’t find anything we couldn’t have, then we took a trip to a bigger store with closeout deals. It’s similar to Big Lots. I found a few good deals on quinoa, parmesan cheese, dried basil, and a suet cake for my bird feeder. I had to almost be forcibly removed from the big book section of the store. I didn’t buy any books, but there was one there that I really had to force myself not to buy. Book and magazines are one of my biggest weaknesses. I have so many to read that I may never get to them all. There is so much information out there it’s exciting and a bit overwhelming.

We drove back toward home, and MrB stopped at Publix to get a little dinner and a cake. He came out with a frozen pizza, a small carrot cake, and some gelato. When we got home we had some cake and gelato. Later in the evening we enjoyed our frozen pizza. Needless to say I totally blew my diet for the day.

Carrot cake, and cookie caramel gelato.
Carrot cake, and cookie caramel gelato.

I went to get some birthday kisses from Denver. He gave me kisses on my hands. I gave him fresh food and water. Then I brushed his back, and gave him belly rubs. Joey didn’t give me birthday kisses, but he did come up to me to get some love. We watched some football on television in the evening, and I have to say this was one of the happiest birthdays I’ve had.

Leave a Reply

