Cooking Wins and Failures

I had some insomnia overnight, and I woke up at 3am, and couldn’t go back to sleep. I was able to make MrB a PB&J sandwich for his lunch before he went to work. I ate eggs and cheesy grits for breakfast. I thought about sitting on the deck with my coffee, but it was so muggy, I changed my mind.

I spent some time watching TV and reading things online. Then I started on making some from scratch crackers.

The dough was a partial failure. I accidentally put too much water in there, even though I was only putting 1 TBSP in at a time. 5 would’ve worked, but 6 was just too much. I tried adding a little flour, but it didn’t help. The dough was sticking to everything, including all my hands, rolling pin, and the cutting board. I finally scraped up what was left in a ball, added a little flour, and put it on the cookie sheet. I thinned it out with my hands, and then cut it with a pizza cutter into pieces. I brushed the top with melted butter, added a little salt, and threw it into the oven for 15 minutes.

Crackers from scratch
Crackers from scratch

They weren’t pretty, but tasted pretty good. They were a little thicker than I would’ve liked. They were almost more like pita chips than crackers. I have learned more about what to do next time. It was a great learning experience.

I took a nap in the middle of the day because I’d awakened so early. Then I woke up and decided to make some banana bread for dessert. It was supposed to be low calorie. I had gotten part of the way thru the recipe when I found out that I needed baking powder, which I did not have. I had some at one time, but it was thrown out when we cleaned out our pantry because it was out of date. I read online that you could use twice the amount of baking soda in place of baking powder. I don’t know if that’s what it was, but after putting the dough in the pan I cooked it for the 20 minutes I was supposed it. It wasn’t even close to being ready at that time. I cooked it for 15 more minutes, and it looked as though it was done. A knife came out clean when I tested it. I sat the pan on the stovetop for a few minutes, and then went to put it on the cooling rack. It flopped out of the silicone baking pan, and came to pieces on the cooling rack. I tasted a bite, and it wasn’t even close to being done, and tasted rather gross. I ended up calling defeat, and threw it away. Oh well, maybe next time. I mostly was trying to make banana bread, because we had some bananas that were very ripe.

For dinner we had Red Lentil Soup. It was so easy. I used my Genius Nicer Dicer Plus to dice onions, carrots, and celery. I put those into a medium saucepan with a tablespoon of olive oil on medium high. After I put the veggies in, I covered the pan and let them cook for 5 minutes. Then I added a carton of vegetable broth, and the red lentils. I brought it to a boil, and then turned the heat to low. It simmered for 20 minutes. It turned out great! The crackers tasted pretty good with the soup.

Soup!
Soup!

MrB cut the yard after we ate, and I folded some laundry. I was feeling very tired, even though I had napped earlier in the day. So I went to bed about 8:30.

2 thoughts on “Cooking Wins and Failures

  1. Hello I’ve been reading your blog from time to time and enjoy your frugal efforts 🙂

    I make my own baking powder with baking soda, corn starch and cream of tartar, it’s really easy and works very well. I posted about it on my own blog last year:

    http://imperfectlyfrugally.blogspot.com/2014/05/make-your-own-baking-powder.html

    I can’t remember where you live, off hand, but here in Florida, Winn Dixie stores have BOGO sales on their store-brand spices (including cream of tartar) a few times a year. I’ve also found some at Aldi right before Christmas (and I stocked up then).

    HTH 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Nathalie, Thanks for writing me! We’re in north Alabama, although we used to live in Navarre, FL about 9 years ago. There are some Winn Dixie locations near some of the family we visit, but none locally. I’ll definitely check out Aldi. Thanks for the advice!

      Like

Leave a Reply

