Simple Sunday

I woke up yesterday morning at about 5:00, and MrB was already gone to fish in a tournament. My dad spent the night, and after he got up we visited for a while. While he was still here I started on a crockpot meal for lunch. I fixed a veggie lasagna  I chopped up some carrots, zucchini, red onion, and red bell peppers. I sautéed them in a little olive oil. I added in a jar of pasta sauce. I stirred that all around. In another bowl I mixed one egg, shredded mozzarella, and ricotta cheese. I assembled it in 3 layers, and then I cooked it on low for 5 hours. It was tasty, but it did get a little too done around the edges.

Cheap lunch
Cheap lunch.

Later in the afternoon I decided to make some bread. Somehow the first dough was a disaster. It just would not work with me. So I tried a different flour, and that seemed to do the trick. I used the recipe for Amish white bread. The rise on it was just perfect, and now I think MrB will have slices tall enough to make himself sandwiches for work.

Two loaves of Amish white bread. It really is yummy!
Two loaves of Amish white bread. It really is yummy!

After MrB got back from his fishing tournament, we ate some lunch and headed to Costco. We found the toilet paper we had been buying from Kroger, except this was a 45 roll pack, and we got it for $16.99. I got a 54oz jar of organic coconut oil. I use this for a lot of things, and it seemed like one of the best deals I’d seen. We also bought a couple other grocery items. We spent $49.51 on grocery items.

I sold some things I posted on eBay, and I’ve already had a few items sell. I’m so excited. I also posted a book to sell on Amazon yesterday morning, and a couple hours later it was purchased. I won’t make a ton of money on these things, but I’m getting them out of the house, and some money is better than nothing.

Leave a Reply

