Soup and Yoga

I wasn’t eating the soup while I was doing yoga though. That would just be messy!

I woke up at 7, which is a little late for me. It’s so strange, because sometimes I’ll wake up in the super early morning, like 3 or so thinking I could totally get up and tackle the day. Then I lay in bed, and usually fall back asleep. MrB had me wake him up around 9. Another day of working an evening shift.

We did excellent on not spending on food today. For breakfast I had eggs. Then I whipped up a recipe of Spinach Tortellini Tomato Soup. It’s really easy to whip up, and it was so yummy! The recipe calls for frozen tortellini, but all I could find at my local supermarket was the refrigerated kind. It was a smaller size container too. But it turned out well. MrB went for seconds, so I took that as a win.

Yummy!
Yummy!

After MrB left for work I ate some leftover cabbage and egg noodles, and he took the same thing to eat for lunch at work. We didn’t spend any money on groceries yesterday! I’ve got more goodies I’m going to be working on this month.

I want to train myself to be a better cook. I’ve always been rather intimidated by cooking, which is probably why I have never done a whole lot. I really didn’t realize that I had so little confidence in my cooking abilities until I started talking about it. Then I really realized that it was a lack of self confidence that was really keeping me out of the kitchen. I now realize that I am just going to jump into it head first, and see just what I can do.I did a 35 minute yoga session, and felt a little less sluggish afterwards. I’m going to try doing it several days a week, and then walking on the other days. It’s slow but steady improvements. Every time I try to stop myself from doing my exercise I try to remember what the end goal is. I don’t want to be an athlete or anything, I just want to try to improve my health. My ultimate end goal is to be able to do some hiking on some of the great hiking trails we have around here.

There’s so much to explore, and I just love nature. As a child my dad lived in a wooded area behind my grandmother’s house. I would explore those woods as much as I could. I had a rather vivid imagination so I would find a section of trees, and call it my house. I would designate certain areas identified by trees to be certain rooms in my house.

My evening consisted of reading blogs and email, watching college football, and snacking on grapes. I actually will watch football whenever it’s on. I grew up every weekend watching it with my dad. I know most of the rules by now, and love my football team. Roll Tide Roll. I’ve been watching it so long, it’s become second nature to just turn some on even if I’m home alone.


I love animals very much, and love to see wildlife in its natural state. When I sit out on the back deck I love listening to the birds tweet, and watch the precious little hummingbirds come to the feeder. In fact that’s what I’m doing now. I’m hoping to get a picture of one if they ever stop long enough.

Beautiful creatures!
Beautiful creatures!

My dog Denver is one of the happiest dogs in the world I believe. He went from a fearful creature in a freezing cold field the day we found him, to a happy-go-lucky baby. His favorite thing to do is get his back scratched. It runs a close second to playing with his favorite deflated soccer ball that we tried to replace. He won’t have anything to do with the new ones. I’ve thought of taking the old ball away, but I just don’t have the heart. He is so happy to play with it even if it is deflated.

Denver gives kisses to anything in sight. Including my shoes.
Denver gives kisses to anything in sight. Including my shoes.

Joey on the other hand likes to sleep. As often as he can. I suppose some of it is his age. He’ll be 12 in December, but he’s still full of life and even playful at times. He’s getting a little stubborn in his senior years, but I guess it’s sort of like a person. Most people get a little more stubborn in their older years.

A not so playful Joey.
A not so playful Joey.

My dogs are as close to having children as I’ll ever get so, I embrace their unique qualities. They make me exceptionally happy.

I’m a vegetarian, and I support cruelty free products. In fact any product that I use in the house is cruelty free. If you are interested in learning more about how to use products that weren’t tested on animals, please go to the Leaping Bunny Program. Here you will find a place to check and see if the products you are using in your home are tested on animals. You can also look for the leaping bunny logo on packaging

Look for this logo.
Look for this logo.

Some products state that they’re cruelty free on their packaging, but you may want to check it against the Leaping Bunny website. I’m not making any money off of writing about this, it’s just something I’m passionate about.

I hope everyone in the US has a wonderful Labor Day weekend. I’ll be checking back in tomorrow. Have a great day!

My large and growing Rose of Sharon bush that came from a transplant of one that my grandfather had grown. The birds love it!
My large and growing Rose of Sharon bush that came from a transplant of one that my grandfather had grown. The birds love it!
Leave a Reply

