Quiet Wednesday

Wednesday was a sunny, muggy day here. The morning included coffee, cheesy grits, and scrambled eggs. MrB woke up a couple hours after I did since he was working an evening shift.

I went to an appointment in the middle of the day, and came straight home. I was proud of myself because I took water with me, and didn’t buy anything.

I wanted to try to cook some of the butternut squash we grew in the garden this year. I sliced one in half, and used an ice cream scoop to get the seeds and pulp out. I covered the squash with olive oil, salt, and pepper. I put them face down onto a high lipped cookie sheet, and poured a little water into the cookie sheet. After 40 minutes they were done. I let them cool a little, and then used the ice cream scoop to get the flesh out. I mashed it all up with some butter, and I picked a little fresh thyme from my herb garden. I had never really tried much butternut squash. It was delicious!

Before cooking
Before cooking
A little fresh thyme from the herb garden on my deck.
A little fresh thyme from the herb garden on my deck.

I spent the rest of the evening quietly catching up on some blogs and emails. I kept the television turned off to maximize my attention on what I was reading.

Leave a Reply

