Sticking To the Grocery Budget Challenge

It was a rather quiet day. We’ve had some windows and our deck door open to enjoy the perfect cool temperatures in. The weather the past few days has been amazing. Sunshine, breezes, and cooler temperatures are a perfect combo. The best part is we’ve been able to keep our A/C unit off.

Breakfast was cheesy grits and veggie sausage. For lunch I made a concoction from leftover quinoa and rice. I added leftover black beans and corn from Tuesday’s dinner. Then I threw in a little cumin, chili powder, and mozzarella cheese. I popped it in the microwave to melt the cheese. It was pretty good. I have a little of the quinoa and rice blend left over. I’ve got to figure out what to do with the rest. MrB took the leftover quinoa enchilada casserole for lunch. He liked it so much that I only got one bowl of it. It will definitely be a keeper.

I had an appointment at noon, and since I’m always thirsty I planned ahead. I have a water bottle with a flip-up straw that fits perfectly in the cup holders.

Dinner was a simple box of bowtie pasta and a tomato basil pasta sauce. We threw a little grated parmesan over the top, and it was a perfect simple supper.

MrB got bored in the evening and decided to work on our garage some. Our garage is somewhat of a nightmare. It’s getting better slowly, but surely. We have years worth of boxes with things that need to be thrown away and donated. I did find a few things I had been looking for including a nice camera tripod. The only tripod I had inside the house was one I had gotten at a yard sale, but failed to realize that the platform that the camera screws into was missing. MrB had gotten a filing cabinet at my request about a year ago. I’m planning to put it in my spare room to hold papers, but now it is being used in the garage as a tackle holder for all of MrB’s tackle. He stopped when the garbage got full, and it was almost dark.

We’re closing in on September, and we’re still looking good on our Grocery Budget Challenge. I’m super excited!

Leave a Reply

