Last Day of Vacation

I woke up fairly early yesterday morning. In keeping with the budget challenge I ate a couple scrambled eggs and a leftover lemon poppyseed muffin. MrB got up later and he ate a poppyseed muffin.

We had to go to a lab and get my blood drawn for our insurance company. This is the first year that I’ve had to do it. I have lost another 1.6 pounds this week, so I’m pretty thrilled about that. I’m quickly closing in on 50 pounds lost.

After we left the lab I had to go to the eye doctor. The contacts I were given last week made my eyes feel dry. I wanted to get the same name brand I had been using in the past. They switched me to the name brand I wanted. It was a bit chaotic, and at first they told us we owed $200, and we questioned why. In the end I got a years worth of contacts for $56. I’m pretty sure I won’t be going back to that vision center.

MrB had some money left over from his birthday, and he wanted to go on a picnic. He had a coupon for Panera Bread. We spent $7 for sandwiches for the both of us. I am not counting that against our budget, because it was cash to be used for whatever MrB wanted.

We went to a park at the river for our picnic. We sat at the picnic table for a while enjoying the fall like temperatures. It was peaceful, and fairly quiet.

Looking skyward from our picnic table.
Looking skyward from our picnic table.

No trip to the river would be complete without a little fishing. MrB sat up a chair for me to sit in the shade while he did a little fishing. I had a pretty bad migraine all day, so he didn’t stay too long.

MrB doing what he loves.
MrB doing what he loves.

I went to Walmart in search of an immersion blender I had seen on their website. I searched high and low for any immersion blender, and there were none to be found. I was surprised that they didn’t have any at all. I suppose I’ll be going to another store or getting one online.

For dinner I made this Quinoa Enchilada Casserole. It was super easy! I cooked a cup of quinoa in 2 cups water for 15 minutes. I sprayed cooking spray in a casserole dish. In a bowl I mixed black beans, corn, chopped green chilies, enchilada sauce, cumin, and chili powder. Then I mixed in shredded mozzarella, and we used the food processor to shred some cheddar cheese. After pouring that mixture into the casserole dish I added more mozzarella and cheddar to the top. I popped it in the oven, and sliced some avocado to put on the top. It came out looking great.

Right out of the oven.
Right out of the oven.

I only got one bowl of this, because MrB ate two helpings, and then later that night packed up the rest of it to take for lunch today.

My bowl of yummy dinner!
My bowl of yummy dinner!

As the sun lowered closer to the horizon we sat out on our deck enjoying the wonderful temperatures and breeze. Our rocking chairs face the humming bird feeder, and we sat really still until hummingbirds became brave enough to take a drink. We enjoyed watching them for a while. It’s been a great week of spending time with MrB. Vacation time is always special.

Our hummingbird feeder.
Our hummingbird feeder.
Leave a Reply

