Wish Lists, Good or Bad?

Wish lists, something I’ve been making since I was a kid. Every Christmas the Sears “Wish Book” would arrive in our household, filled with toys of all kinds. I remember thumbing thru the pages and coveting the all the latest and greatest toys. I would always compile a list of things I desired for Santa to bring me.

Nowadays, many consumer websites such as Amazon have wish list features to invite you to remember items they sell and “wish” for.

Consumerism is still alive and well in this nation. Most people can quickly compile a big list of things they’re wanting to buy at any one time, myself included. I have wish lists on many different websites. Is this a good thing, or a bad thing?

There’s a couple ways to look at it.

On the bad side, the wish list facilitates desire for things that we don’t really need.  We are bombarded every day with ads of every size and shape just begging us to spend our hard earned money. Television, magazines, radio, even the billboards when you’re driving down the road. It’s almost impossible to ignore them. How often do we find ourselves seeing an ad somewhere, and immediately wanting it. It feels pretty counterintuitive to frugality. It seems to go against my desire to simplify things in my life, yet I find myself often seeing an object I want and putting it on my wish list.

On the good side, a wish list can be used to price compare many items that we have to have. I take quiet a few vitamins and supplements. I’m always looking for the best deal. I’m also in the market for an immersion blender to help create the from scratch meals I’m making here at home. I’ve been able to use my wish list to compare them online and in the stores.

I use the wish list on Amazon to keep up with all the books I want to read. I use it to go to my library’s website to see if the book is available. My library has its own wish list that I find extremely useful. So, in this case, I’m using a wish list to do something much more frugal.


When trying to live a more frugal and simple existence, we have to be on guard to ignore the “want monster”. That is a process I’m still in the process of learning.

"I just want any food you eat!"
“I just want any food you eat!”
Leave a Reply

