What a Beautiful Day!

I did a little sewing yesterday. I didn’t take home ec. in high school. I chose to take jazz band class instead. I loved that class, but I really wish I had taken home ec. I think that there should be adult home ec. classes to teach some of the basics to adults. I like sewing by hand, but I’m not very good at it. MrBalentine had a pair of shorts that had holes in both front pockets. He couldn’t wear them to work, because his stuff was falling out. I found a sewing kit and I stitched up both pockets. One pocket I had to shorten because the fabric was so threadbare. It wasn’t pretty, but I think I made them useable again. We don’t buy clothes that often, so extending the life of something we already have is important.

Yesterday afternoon I started a meal called Zucchini Pasta Bake for supper. I chopped up two small zucchini from the farmer’s market down the road. It contained whole wheat rotini pasta that I cooked and drained. Then I added cottage cheese, diced tomatoes, Italian seasoning (I made my own seasoning earlier in the day), dried parsley, and garlic powder. I topped it with parmesan and shredded mozzarella cheeses. It baked in a casserole dish covered with aluminum foil for 20 minutes, and then took the foil off for about 8 minutes to brown it up a little. It turned out pretty good.

Zucchini Pasta Bake.
Zucchini Pasta Bake.

MrBalentine and I watched a little television, and I did a gentle yoga session in the evening. We didn’t spend any money on food or groceries yesterday!


It’s a beautiful Sunday morning. The sun is beaming, and the sky is a brilliant blue. It’s not too humid, and right now it’s 80 degrees outside.

I woke up around 6:30 and was able to see MrBalentine briefly before he had to go to work. He took leftovers for his lunch, and that’s what I’ll be having for lunch as well. Breakfast for me was cheese grits. I did a slightly more intense yoga session, and it was refreshing.

Leave a Reply

