Sunny Summer Days

Yesterday was a pretty simple day. I went to an appointment in the afternoon, and came straight home. I ate oatmeal for breakfast, leftover pasta for lunch, and I made a meal in the crockpot for supper. I’ll tell you more about it. I got the recipe here at Damn Delicious. I’ll tell you how it’s made though.

Enchilada Orzo (serves 6)

  • 1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup corn (either canned, fresh off the cob, or frozen)
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 can black beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 small can of green diced chilies
  • 1 can enchilada sauce
  • 4 oz cubed cream cheese
  • 1 box of orzo pasta
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Cilantro

You start by adding everything but the orzo and cilantro into a crockpot, and set it to cook on low for 6-8 hours. About 30 minutes before it is finished turn the crockpot up to high, and add orzo. When done add cilantro to garnish. I should mention that it wouldn’t hurt to add more broth when adding in the orzo. Mine turned out a little dry. It was pretty good though. This is about the second or third time I’ve made it.

I took some of the bounty of cherry tomatoes from my garden and put them on a flat cookie sheet. I stuck them in the freezer for several hours, until they were good and frozen. These will be sealed up in a couple of Foodsaver bags, and kept in the freezer for soups and chilis.

These tomatoes were more spread out when I first put them in the freezer. They moved when I took them out for this picture
These tomatoes were more spread out when I first put them in the freezer. They moved when I took them out for this picture

So yesterday was a no-spend day as far as eating was concerned.


Today I woke up fairly early and tried to catch up on some reading while drinking some coffee. I watched a little news, and then made myself some scrambled eggs and vegetarian sausage. I make my “scrambled” eggs in this little device called the Eggspress, and I got it from MrBalentine as a Christmas present. You can find one here, or possibly on eBay. You just beat two eggs in a mug, and then pour it in the little tray. You add water to the correct marker on the cup that comes with it. You pour the water into the space below the cooking cup. You put a little dome lid with a steam spout on top, and simply press the button. When it’s done, it makes a loud click sound. It has a feature where you can poach eggs or hard boil eggs. I’m considering hard boiling a few eggs to put into a salad.

The temperature was just right this morning, so MrBalentine, and I sat out on the back deck with our coffee. We have a hummingbird feeder, and as beautiful as those little birds are, they sure are mean to each other. We watched them scurry around for a little bit, and watched Denver run around the yard. I observed some of my herbs sitting outside, and thinking of ways to preserve them. I have rosemary, basil, thyme, comfrey, feverfew, holy basil, lemon balm, and turmeric. The feverfew, lemon balm, and holy basil I grew from seeds, thyme was given to me by a friend, and MrBalentine bought me the basil and rosemary. The comfrey I ordered as a rooted plant off of eBay. It looked dead when I got it, but it has really perked up. I’m planning on making some salve from it. The turmeric I bought from eBay as individual rhizomes, and they are a tropical type plant. They have really grown well in the humidity we’ve had lately. Something is eating the leaves. I think I’m going to put a soapy water mixture on them.

My herbs.
My herbs.

We came inside, and for lunch we had a frozen pizza that we had gotten a couple days ago. I plan on eating more enchilada orzo or a frozen microwave meal for supper. MrBalentine took a PB&J sandwich for work supper, even though I encouraged him to take some of the orzo.

I plan on spending some of my evening decluttering the house. I will talk more about my work with the Buy Nothing Project in another post.

Leave a Reply

