Impromptu Burritos

Yesterday was a quiet day at home for me. MrBalentine went in to work early, and I woke up a little before 6:45am. After some coffee I ate some cheese grits mixed with some vegetarian sausage. I worked on paying some bills and balancing our budget on the YNAB software.

MrBalentine got to leave work early, because they were cutting hours. He was able to use some holiday pay time, so thankfully it didn’t affect our finances. He had just eaten his PB&J sandwich, so he wasn’t hungry when he got home. I ate leftover pasta topped with a little parmesan cheese.

Ever since we cleaned out the pantry, I’ve been planning ways to use the things we have to make meals. I decided to make up my own recipe for supper. Here’s what I used.

Impromptu Burritos

  • 4 cloves of freshly minced garlic
  • 1 medium onion diced
  • 3 cups of frozen soy crumbles (similar to ground beef)
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes with chiles, undrained
  • 1 can of tomato sauce
  • 1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can of corn, undrained
  • 2 tsp of cayenne pepper
  • 2 tsp of chili powder
  • 2 tsp of cumin
  • 1 cup of shredded mozzarella
  • 1/2 cup of freshly shredded cheddar

I heated up 4 whole wheat flour tortillas wrapped in two damp paper towels in the microwave for 40 seconds. I prepared my side, by heating up 1 can of vegetarian refried beans. To prepare the burritos I scooped some of the filling in the middle of each burrito, and then rolled them up. I topped my burritos with sour cream and a few canned black olives. I prepared two, and on the side I put about 1/4 a cup of refried beans on the plate, and topped it with a little mozzarella cheese. I even added a very small amount of the burrito filling on top of the beans.

My thrown together Impromptu Burritos
My thrown together Impromptu Burritos

We spent the rest of the evening just hanging out. I was reading things online, and MrBalentine was playing football on the old school Nintendo NES.

Another day of no eating out!

One thought on “Impromptu Burritos

  1. Pingback: Out on the Town | Balentine Cove

Leave a Reply

