A Cabin in the Woods

Yesterday was an awesome day! MrBalentine and I took a little trip to see my mother at her newly built cabin deep in the woods and hills. We packed a cooler with drinks and cut up cantaloupe.

The place we went to is my stepfather’s property, acquired by this father when my stepfather was a kid. He grew up spending a lot of time at the farm. After his father passed several years ago, the property was split among the siblings. The new cabin sits on the site where his father had been living before he died. It is truly a magical type place with hills, fields, streams, and waterfalls. I used to go there occasionally when I was young, but it has been over a decade since I’ve been there. MrBalentine went with me a few times when we had first started dating.

You are truly disconnected from things when you are on the farm. There’s no cell phone signal, and since the cabin has just been built there is no satellite or television of any kind yet. The farm is in the least populated county of the entire state and is in the least populated part of that county.

The cabin itself is so delightful. It is made totally with wood harvested from the farm. Even the kitchen cabinets are made with wood from the farm. It is rustically decorated. My mother’s twin sister is a painter, and in the past she painted rural scenes on all kinds of saws. Some of these saws are hanging on the walls. There are also paintings hanging on the walls. My mother has some of my grandmother’s things decorating the house, and it is just so nostalgic. All of their wood was kiln dried at the local Amish community. The Amish also built the dining room table, and some end tables for the living room. There are two bedrooms and two bathrooms downstairs. An open living room and kitchen. There is also a loft and extremely high ceilings.

A painting done by my aunt, and the light is a kerosene lantern that my stepdad converted into a wired wall hanging lights.
A painting done by my aunt, and the light is a kerosene lantern that my stepdad converted into a wired wall hanging lights.
A hutch made from wood from an old barn that was on the farm. The cast iron skillet was painted by my aunt.
A hutch made from wood from an old barn that was on the farm. The cast iron skillet was painted by my aunt.

We had lunch to have a belated birthday celebration for MrBalentine. My stepfather fried catfish, and made his famous hushpuppies. My mother made fried squash, coleslaw, and pinto beans. I was the only one who didn’t eat fish. We also had a slice of birthday cake. It was delicious.

This is a 60 year old Pyrex bowl that belonged to my grandmother. She made many biscuits in this bowl.
This is a 60 year old Pyrex bowl that belonged to my grandmother. She made many biscuits in this bowl.

After lunch my mom and I drove to a waterfall. It was almost surreal, because we were driving down a wide stream. There was a rocky bluff on one side of the stream, and nothing but forest to the other side of us. We arrived at the waterfall, and there were two turkeys that were at the water. They ran away as we drove up. I didn’t realize that turkeys could run so fast! She said the waterfall was at its lowest level, and that in the fall it may be much bigger. We then had an adventure of trying to back the truck up all the way back down the stream to where we could turn around. We almost got stuck. The bottom of the stream was solid rock. If it had been silt or gravel, we definitely wouldn’t have been able to get out. I saw so many butterflies around the property. I can’t remember the last time I’ve seen so many butterflies!

This is what it looks like to get away from it all!
This is what it looks like to get away from it all!

We spent several hours chatting. We actually lost track of time. About 5pm, I reminded BJ that we needed to head home. It takes a couple of hours to get back home. My mom gave MrBalentine some pieces of cake to take home with him. On the way home we drank our packed flavored waters, and snacked on some veggie chips we brought.

When we got home we ate a little supper from what was left of the cantaloupe and some cake. We had previously bought the drinks, chips, and cantaloupe to take on the trip. We only spent money on ice for the cooler, and for gas. We actually only used about half a tank of gas for the round trip. Overall it was a pretty frugal trip.

2 thoughts on “A Cabin in the Woods

Leave a Reply

