Making Broth

This is my first attempt at making my own homemade vegetable broth. MrBalentine and I are vegetarians and have been for about 3 years. I’ve been reading online about how to make your own so I decided to try my hand at it.

Homemade vegetable broth
Homemade vegetable broth

I’ve been collecting vegetable scraps in a bag in the freezer for a couple of months. Once I had a bag full of awesome veggie scraps, I decided it was time to try to make my own broth. We use vegetable broth a lot in our beans, soups, and a variety of other dishes.

I put all the frozen veggie scraps in the crockpot and filled it with water, salt, pepper, and a couple bay leaves. Mostly my scraps were onion ends, pieces of carrots, the ends of squash and zucchini. I set the timer for 8 hours, and walked away. After it finished heating up I decided to let it cool down some.

The result was three full quart size Mason jars full of rich-looking vegetable broth. I filled each one with about an inch of headspace to allow for expansion. I put two of the jars in the freezer for later use, and stuck one in the fridge to be used sometime this week. After I try it out I’ll give an update.

Leave a Reply

